top of page

Skater Profile: Twisted Sister


Real Name/Hometown/Occupation

Gwendolyn Miles/Waynesville/Sponsored Projects Administator,IP Tech

What is your derby name and number? Care to share how you came up with them?

Twisted Sister 1096 I was a police officer for many years the number 10-96 is code for crazy, so there is crazy twisted or crazy sister.

Skating Experience (include when you joined the Wild Wood Rollers).

I joined WWR in May of 2015, I went to 1 bout and fell in love with all of it. Growing up, St. Robert had a skating rink called Reps. Me and all my friends lived there every weekend.

Position

Blocker

Favorite Skater

Oh MY!! Sister LOVE

Gear Check - What gear are you using? What are your favorites?

Ridell3 skates with Twister suregrip wheels and 187 pads

How did you get involved in roller derby?

Whisky Dixie!! <--Derby Wife

What is your favorite part, or memory, of being a Wild Wood Roller?

I love the sisterhood of the traveling skates! The encouragement, the fun and the shenanigans

How has derby challenged and/or changed you?

"I get knocked down....But I get up again" Derby has taught me to get up faster and keep going always.

Do you have any advice for incoming skaters?

Just DO IT! You will never in your life be associated with a better group of empowering women.

Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Archive

Search By Tags

No tags yet.
bottom of page